carolinainmymind

can't you see the sunshine….

What have we been up to, part 2

on April 19, 2017

DSCF3002

 

Continuing on the deck theme, the planter.  On one side of the deck instead of a regular rail that would have looked right into our neighbor’s deck rail and deck, our contractor suggested a large planter box that acted as the rail and gave some privacy.  It is over six feet long, about two feet wide and the height of a regular deck rail.

February and March were very mild here and we were out looking at a lot of plant nurseries.  It nearly killed me not to buy plants.  But I couldn’t until I had a place to put them.  I might have written and whined about not being able to fill the deck planter until wires were run and inspections were done.  In the mean time I dreamed and planned, shopped and checked out garden books from the library.  Took lots of pictures of existing planters which were commercially planted and maintained.

DSCF3004 (3)

Finally, everything was inspected.  With help, I added drainage rock and soil and then I did what I was trying to avoid; went plant shopping and bought plants not on my carefully crafted list!  But they were there.  And needed a home.  (that is why we don’t go to animal shelters or to look at baby chicks)

DSCF3004

DSCF3007

neighbor’s planter box in the upper left

DSCF3005

I really like this dwarf  blue ‘mouse ears’ hosta.

I have really jammed plants in there.  Lambs Ear, Sweet Grass, Creeping Jenny, Sweet Potato Vine, Asparagus Fern, Bee Balm, Rudbeckia Daisy, Holly Fern to name a few.  I hope they all make it.  Most will winter over.

DSCF3003

Some things at the back should grow taller and will give more privacy.  And some plants will bloom and hopefully attract butterflies and hummingbirds.  I don’t have the year round height that small evergreens would have given me.  I don’t have the miniature Buddleia (butterfly bush) that I wanted.  Don’t have a miniature hydrangea.  Don’t have a dwarf crape myrtle.   Whine whine whine (I will have that (wine that is) when I get a chair to sit and enjoy the deck)  I do have, thanks to a smart contractor/designer,  the nicest deck in our courtyard.  (And a view of the Broughton High School baseball field)

2 responses to “What have we been up to, part 2

  1. Hardy says:

    Wow, that’s very beautiful Martha, and coming on a treat. It’ll be so nice to come out in the morning and inspect all your plants’ progress. I love this idea, and might even steal it for our place in Hereford!!! You could always find another corner for your buddleia bush and hydrangea. Maybe a couple of largish pots?!! Certainly the hydrangea would be good in one of those. I shall soon be planting up the ones you kindly let me have…….wish I could mail one to you! Jules x

    Like

  2. Dinah says:

    The planter looks wonderful and I would expect no less from you! Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

